Our Mission & Goals

The Comparative Governance and Policy Research Centre of the Department of Government & International Studies at Hong Kong Baptist University and Civil Rights Observer establish The Election Observation Project (EOP) with an objective to become an independent academic platform for the 2019 District Council election. EOP offers support to election monitoring networks in all the 18 districts in Hong Kong and conducts a comprehensive examination on the electoral process.

EOP will be carried out with reference to international standards for democratic elections—including but not limited to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, Code of Conduct for International Election Observers, as well as authoritative international academic research on electoral integrity and election observations in different parts of the world. EOP researchers will examine incidents of electoral malpractice, if any, investigate what cause them, and put forth reform proposals. We encourage civic participation in defense of electoral integrity which in our view has a positive effect on democratic development.

EOP makes use of web-based and social media platform and provides civic education activities and workshops in order to encourage concerned citizens across the 452 constituencies to collect and verify information at the district level. We focus on the factors promoting and undermining electoral integrity. For that, EOP intends to provide objective, reliable and evidence-based comments and analyses for Hong Kong society and the international community. We intend to issue public statements throughout the election process to point out any sign of malpractice and to produce the first District Council EOP report, advising measures to consolidate a free and fair election according to International standards and code of practice.

One of EOP’s first actions is to ask the Electoral Affairs Commission and the Returning Officers across the 18 districts what criteria or justifications there may be for disqualifying prospective candidates in the upcoming District Council election.

Meanwhile, we are going to organize a Workshop on 12 October to begin the groundwork for the EOP network. We shall reach out to higher education institutions and engage citizen in the neighborhoods to raise awareness of various forms of electoral malpractice.

As EOP expands its operation and extends its network, we shall disseminate information by means of events, press conference, public statements, media interviews and our web-based platforms.

We intend to invite prominent international experts and scholars to act as EOP’s overseas advisors whose roles include overseeing our works on the ground and connecting EOP with our international interlocutors.

Our Members

Our Overseas Advisors

我們的使命與目標

香港浸會大學政治及國際關係學系比較管治及政策研究中心和民權觀察今日成立「選舉觀察計劃」(Election Observation Project),旨在就選舉活動建立一個獨立的民間學術平台,開發支援全港18區的選舉觀察網絡,全面檢視整個選舉過程。

本計劃的目標是根據國際標準和守則--包括但不限於《世界人權宣言》、《公民及政治權利國際公約》、《國際選舉觀察工作原則宣言》--並按照權威學術研究和海外選舉觀察的豐富實踐經驗,指出今次選舉哪些環節出現問題或與國際標準有異,並研究成因,提出改革建議,帶動公眾關心和肯定選舉公正對建設民主至關重要。

本計劃開設網上和社交媒體平台,舉辦一系列公民教育活動,鼓勵公眾運用這個平台覆蓋全港452個選區,蒐集和核實各選區資訊,針對性調查影響選舉公正的因素,向全港市民及國際社會提供客觀、可靠和以證據為基礎的評論和分析,進而全面檢視整個選舉。我們在選舉過程會指出任何不當情況,並在選舉後發表香港首份區議會選舉觀察民間報告,推動符合自由和民主選舉的國際標準的改革。

本計劃在9月26日已去信選舉管理委員會及18區選舉主任,向他們查詢取消市民參選資格的準則。

我們在10月12日將舉辦工作坊,介紹本計劃的理念、目的、方法和選舉日的安排。我們會繼續在不同院校、社區介紹本計劃,鼓勵市民向我們提供可靠準確的資料,讓社會得知各區可能出現的一些破壞選舉公正的制度安排、決定和行為。

我們將在日後透過進公開活動、記者會、聲明、傳媒訪問和社交媒體平台,公布相關活動詳情及進展,以及公眾參與的方法。

我們也邀請國際專家擔任本計劃的名譽顧問,提供意見和確保質素,將觀察成果和報告在國際社會引發討論,有系統和深入地解釋香港區議會選舉過程中出現的問題。

2019年9月26日

成員名單

海外顧問名單